Happy Birthday to Me! Woot!


happy birthday cake

Yikes, I’m 47 years old today.  Shocker to most people.  When I tell people how old am I, they assume I’m much younger.  I haven’t been married  10 years yet and our son is 8-year-old 3rd grader.  What can I say?  I married and had my son late in my 30’s.  I waited or I should say, my husband waited for me to finally figure it out.

Anywoos…lately or I should say about a month ago on Facebook, the 14 Things You don’t Know about me made the rounds.  Well, I put mine out there but I realized that I had few more thing to share about myself.  So here is the original list and a couple of others.

1. Growing up I wanted to dance on Broadway. Fame, West Side Story and the movie The Chorus Line were my inspirations. Sadly when I tried out for the Kilgore Rangerettes (Texas), I was too short.

2. I’ve met Ozzy Osbourne, Zak Wylde, Ace Frehley, Pantera, and Drowning Pool. That was back in my rocker days. Sadly, I miss the music but not the scene. I buried two people and it was awful.

3. The hockey players that I have met are too long to list. I worked for the Dallas Stars Hockey Club from 1999-2004. I do have a cousin that married to Keith Tkachuk. He’s a great guy to talk to. When we met after a hockey game, it was like NO SHIT! We sat and talked for hours. Do I miss it? Not really but I do miss going to games. Its hard when you live in the sticks.

4. Refer to #2 & #3 and that’s why I don’t read these kind of romances for review. I had good and bad memories and they sometimes cause triggers.

5. I married when I was 37 and had my one child at 38. My husband is 7 years younger than me. LOL!

6. People are always surprised when I tell them I hate the Dallas Cowboys. I worked for Bum Bright when he sold them to Jerry Jones. Jones is ***** and he fired Tom Landry. Yep, hated them ever since.  Yes, I’m that old.  🙂

7. When I meet Peyton Manning and Archie Manning at a lunch in Dallas, I damn near fainted. In fact, Archie asked me if I was okay. LOL!

8. I have ZERO confidence in myself. I’m my worst motivator. Comes from years of emotional put downs from people in my family. Long story..

9. I can cook but can’t bake. Unless it’s from a box. Sad but true!

10. I lived most of my married life in small towns.

11. I was diagnosed a Type 2 diabetic almost 3 years ago. My sugars have never been over 150 and I’ve lost 60 pounds.

12. My writing dream is to be published by Harlequin. I know, right?

13. My guilty pleasure is Zebra Cakes from Little Debbie. My vice is cigarettes. And yes, I need to quit.  Sadly, I don’t drink anymore.

14. We named our son after a hockey player and football player. Brian Leetch, New York Rangers and Earl Campbell, Houston Oilers.

New entries:

15.  I love classical music.  Yes, I’m a headbanger but I have played the piano since I was about 3 yrs old and violin since I was 8.  I have also sang in choirs since I was young.  I sing First Alto.  My inspiration for the piano was Elton John and Billy Joel.  Charlie Daniels was my inspiration for the violin.  I still tear up when I hear the Alleluia Chorus by Handel.  I sand it so much that I can just break out singing.  In fact, my dad and I did over Thanksgiving.  My son was impressed.

16.  I worked in the corporate world for over 25 years.  Sadly, no one wants someone with my experience anymore.  😦  I’m an old IBM’er, JC Penney corporate (women’s division) and banking.

17.  I love Marvel and DC Comics.  My favorites are Superman, Batman, Captain America and Thor.  And yes, I can’t wait for the movie Superman vs. Batman.  My favorite Batman:  tie between Michael Keaton and Christian Bale.  Superman:  Christopher Reeve.  Don’t get me wrong Henry was AWESOME but no one played Superman better than Chris.  He defined the super hero role for everyone else.

18.  I have two nicknames from my husband:  Cliff (from Cheers) and Monica (from Friends).  He He!

19.  I hate being cold.  My idea temp would be around 85 with a breeze.  I live in Texas so I might have one day like that.  LOL!

20.  Are you bored yet?

Thanks for hanging out with me today.

Harlie signature button

5 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to Me! Woot!

Leave a Reply

